Book Description

(From Waterstones)

Five students go to detention. Only four leave alive. For fans of Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars, this is the perfect high school thriller.

Yale hopeful Bronwyn has never publicly broken a rule. Sports star Cooper only knows what he’s doing in the baseball diamond. Bad body Nate is one misstep away from a life of crime. Prom queen Addy is holding together the cracks in her perfect life. And outsider Simon, creator of the notorious gossip app at Bayview High, won’t ever talk about any of them again.

He dies 24 hours before he could post their deepest secrets online.


Why I Bought It

Since this one was released, there hasn’t been a day where I haven’t seen a post on Twitter about it. I’d picked it up a few times in Waterstones and then put it back down because I was almost certain that it wouldn’t be my sort of book. Then while I was shopping for books to take on holiday I finally caved and bought it.


Overall Thoughts

I love it when the edges of the pages in a book are bright colours! It makes me so happy to find books that look like this, and it automatically makes me want to read the book more. It’s a lovely touch.

However, I feel like the cover could have been better. It definitely doesn’t sell the book with how simplistic it is and I feel that it doesn’t fit the novel too well. This is just my opinion, but for a whodunnit I expected a darker colour scheme for the cover.

I’ve actually never read a whodunnit within the YA genre, and I really feel like it’s a gap that wants covering more.

It did take me a short while to get into the book, but after the first hundred pages, I quickly finished the book within a few hours. It had me gripped with all of the twists and turns.

I was making theories all the way through of who killed Simon, but I wasn’t ever even close to being right. This is so cleverly written that you really have no idea at all until the final few pages.

The characters were definitely realistic. I really liked that there was a real mixture of personalities rather than sticking with just one clichéd group.

The only reason that I can’t get past three stars with this one is just the fact that I almost gave up on it. The start seems to drag a bit and get a bit boring.

Other than that, though, One Of Us Is Lying is really thrilling and mysterious, and definitely worth checking out if you’re looking for something different to read.

Buy One Of Us Is Lying from Amazon here.


Rating: 📚📚📚

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Recommended to: Fans of Pretty Little Liars and Gossip Girl


Any links used in my posts may be affiliate links, meaning I get a small commission for any purchases made through them. All prices and offers were correct at the time of publishing.

Have you read it? Let me know in the comments!

Join the Conversation

5 Comments

  1. I read this book earlier this year and I have to say I wasn’t as sold on it as I hoped I would be. I did enjoy it overall but there just felt like there was something missing, especially with the overall premise of it.

    Abbie
    overpeachchic.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It definitely seemed to miss something which is why I could only give it three stars. I agree that the premise was lacking and I did struggle to stay interested in the plot. But saying that, the thing that kept me reading is that the synopsis was promising and although it was a struggle to read at times, I felt like it was worth it in the end.

      Like

  2. I completely agree with you about the cover! I initially didn’t pick this up, because it made the book itself seem a little silly (I know you’re not supposed to judge a book by its cover). But I was too intrigued by the Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars premise NOT to buy it. I’m so glad I did, because I absolutely adore it, but I feel the cover should have a little bit more nuanced and less in your face. Great review! 📚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: