Book Description

(From Waterstones)

Meet Simon: cynical, funny, insecure, full of obsessions, hopes and dreams like every other 17 year old. But Simon also has a big, glowing secret, and that secret is going to get out if class clown Martin doesn’t get what he wants.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is the YA phenomenon that swept North America and is now making waves here. Big-hearted and brimming with authenticity, Becky Albertalli’s debut takes on one boy’s hesitant path toward coming out as gay and creates a story filled with humour and very real drama. From the wild eccentricities of his family to the growing feelings between Simon and the mysterious, online figure of Blue, you’ll find yourself rooting for one of the great new heroes of contemporary YA fiction.


Why I Bought It

This had been sat on my Amazon Wishlist for a while and I hadn’t got around to buying it. I had seen all of the hype for it on Twitter and knew I needed to read it before I saw the film. In the end, I was bought it for my birthday.


Overall Thoughts

I really quite enjoyed this. It begins with a lot of mystery which creates a gripping plot right from the start. Blue is introduced almost immediately which left me looking for clues all of the way through the book.

I worked out who Blue was quite quickly, which did leave me shouting at Simon to open his eyes and the big reveal at the end wasn’t as surprising.

I did like that it faced quite modern issues – Simon was called out on an anonymous gossip Tumblr page for his school. I’ve read quite a few books lately that take a focus on cyber bulling and I feel like it is a much-needed topic in YA fiction.

One thing I was unsure of was the justice in the book. Martin blackmails Simon over seeing his emails to Blue yet nothing actually happens to him, despite the fact that he threatened to out Simon if he didn’t do what he wanted. I feel like more could have been done with his character rather than a quick forgive and forget.

I feel like the book needed more, but that’s also why Leah on The Offbeat exists. I can’t wait to get to read it.

Buy Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda from Amazon here.


Rating: 📚📚📚📚

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Recommended to: Fans of John Green and Adam Silvera


Any links used in my posts may be affiliate links, meaning I get a small commission for any purchases made through them. All prices and offers were correct at the time of publishing.

Have you read it? Let me know in the comments!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s